top of page

On winning the 2015 Davitt Award

What can I say? I was thrilled.

The Davitt Awards are named for Australia's first female crime writer, Ellen Davitt (1812-1879) who wrote Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud, in 1865.

They're presented by Sisters in Crime at a Gala Dinner in Melbourne. I couldn't get there, mainly becuase I'm living in Santa Monica right now, but Mum went along to collect the prize for me, and she gave a speech which was perfect, since she edited the book for me, correcting all the little mistakes that would have gone directly into print without her.

I wish I could have been there but I'm thrilled none-the-less. Louisa's story is so important, and yet it's barely been told, and I really hope people see the Davitt sticker on the cover and pick up a copy and have a read because it's about justice, and human rights, and it's about our shared history ... and how far we've all come. Thank you to the Davitts!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page